150-Word Story: I Can See the Future

dawid-zawila-192545

I Can See the Future

Janice stared into the bottom of the cup. The tea leaves were just random splotches to her, but of course, she would never tell her clients that. She looked up at the rotund middle-aged man at the other side of the table. The man was sweating profusely and breathing heavily. Janice was no doctor, but even she could see this guy was in bad shape. The last thing she needed was a client having a heart attack in the middle of a reading. Best to give him some good news.

“Well, Mr Banyard, it looks like you’re in for a windfall. The tea leaves show a large sum of money coming your way!” Janice looked up and smiled.

“Ahh, that’ll be the insurance money for my wife’s murder.” He said.

“Oh, I’m so sorry. I didn’t know. Your wife was murdered?” Janice asked.

“Not yet.” The man replied.


Even I admit the ending is cheesy/corny/terrible and sounds like a punchline (I can almost hear the ba-dum-bum-CHAH drum roll at the end).

2 thoughts on “150-Word Story: I Can See the Future

Leave a Comment

