One Month Old

lucy-heath-176681

My blog is a month old today (Happy Birthday, Blog…I’ll buy you something nice later), which means I’ve officially been writing again for a whole werewolf  lunar month. Kind of.

I know I’m a mere baby compared to you seasoned bloggers out there but, as someone who has a mortal fear of committing to anything, I’m just amazed that I finally stuck with something.

Anyway, for my Blog Birthday, I got the lovely surprise of winning the Ad Hoc Flash Fiction Competition – my first competition win since returning to writing. So I thought I’d share the winning piece with you below. It’s not my usual kind of flash fiction story, but I’m guessing most writers have experienced this…


 The Writing Process

Draft 1: Steve bought a cup of coffee.

Draft 2: Steve bought an extra-tall, triple-shot, non-fat latte.

Draft 7: Steve bought a grande latte from the pretty girl behind the counter.

Draft 11: Steve bought a latte from the smiling waitress who reminded him of his mother.

Draft 24: Steven Blake purchased a foamy latte from the waitress who looked uncannily like his mother.

Draft 46: Steven Palmer-Blake pulled out his gold credit card and paid the pretty waitress for his triple-shot, extra-tall, non-fat, extra-foam, mocha-latte with extra sprinkles, all the while thinking how much the waitress looked like his recently deceased mother.

Final draft: Steve bought a cup of coffee.


 

10 thoughts on “One Month Old

  1. Mandie Hines says:

    Congratulations on returning to writing, starting a blog, the monthiversary of your blog, and winning the Ad Hoc Flash Fiction Competition!! Woot! Woot!
    Humorous flash fiction piece. I laughed when I read it; although, upon reflection I might cry. This is what I’m currently working on, editing. You captured the experience accurately.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I know how you feel…I’m in the middle of editing a 5,000 word story, but it’ll probably be about 500 words by the time I’m finished with it.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Comment

