75-Word Story: Marketing Tactics

Eyeballs

Marketing Tactics

The PirateWear Eye Patch Company ran the most successful marketing campaign in history. The company’s plan to kidnap and forcibly remove the right eyeball of anyone earning less than minimum wage was initially controversial, but once they announced they would be showing the entire abduction and medical procedure on live TV, viewers were glued to their screens. Demand for PirateWear customized eye patches soared, propelling the company’s CEO to the top of the rich list.


Written for the Daily Prompt: Controversy

8 thoughts on “75-Word Story: Marketing Tactics

  1. Mandie Hines says:

    Seriously, put anything on TV and people will watch, regardless of how controversial. In fact, the more controversy the better. Interesting seeing authors tap into some real life issues on blogs today. Something must be in the air.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try to stay away from real life issues as much as possible, but I’m also amazed at how quickly crazy things become “normal” once they’ve been televised.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mandie Hines says:

        As a society we really keep pushing up the bar on what is acceptable and tolerable. It’s also weird how things don’t seem real unless they make it onto TV or into the news. And it has to keep being repeated, because just because it was on TV last week, doesn’t mean it’s still happening this week unless it’s reported on again.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I agree…although I don’t watch/read the news (mainly because it’s usually skewed and doesn’t reflect reality) and I don’t even own a TV, so unless it makes it onto the Trending section of Twitter, I haven’t got a clue.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Mandie Hines says:

            I go through phases where I avoid the news because it gets to be overwhelming. I have a hard time figuring out what happened to the idea of objective news. I used to be a journalist, so I can honestly say, it’s not that hard. You can have an opinion about something and not let it slant your article. Of course, I’ve always been the type of person who enjoys listening to opposing view points, so maybe that’s why I see it that way.

            Liked by 1 person

            • The problem is there are lots of people who don’t realise there are opposing view points…some people believe everything they read, which is why skewed news reporting bugs me so much.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow…this was a strong statement about the state of our society and what people are interested in. I agree with Madie – we do keep pushing the bar on what is shown on TV. It seems most people are glued to TV shows or YouTube channels. Personally, I don’t watch a lot of shows – TV or the internet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree mostly…although, unfortunately, I’m an eternal optimist when it comes to the human spirit, so I’m not as pessimistic as this story suggests! 😀

      Like

Leave a Comment

