Writer’s Block

headsman-block

So, after spending the whole weekend working on a difficult story for a competition, I now have a serious case of nothing-in-my-brain-ness. 

I’ve tried all the usual strategies: freewriting (ended up with a page full of swear words), writing for the Daily Prompt (stared at the word “label” for half an hour with a blank expression on my face), reading other people’s brilliant stories (hello self-doubt, nice to see you again), etc. I considered alcohol, but it’s only 8 AM here in England.

I was hoping that writing a post about writer’s block might help, but, as it turns out, I can’t think of anything to write. 

Urghh.


 

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. David K says:

    I feel your pain. Things will flow again. Just don’t worry when, but keep the words going without judging, however stilted or bad, expletives and all. Keep those wings beating remember? Using a list of random words to incorporate into my free-writing has helped me tremendously.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

